Idaho is a “shall issue” state. That means if you meet all the statutory requirements, the sheriff must issue you a concealed weapons license (CWL). If you do not meet all the qualifications, your application will be denied. Idaho Code 18-3302(11)
How Does the Online Course Work?
There are 6 lessons in this course. Once you have read a lesson you will be tested until you answer all the questions correctly. You then must click the Mark Complete button to get credit for the lesson and to advance to the next lesson. After a lesson is marked complete the system will save your place and you may resume later from the same or another device.
What You Will Learn in This Course
- Lesson 1: CWL qualifications, issuance and revocation process.
- Lesson 2: The legal responsibilities and liability of firearms ownership.
- Lesson 3: Overview and explanation of laws regulating the use of force on another.
- Lesson 4: When an Idaho CWL is not required?
- Lesson 5: Where carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited?
- Lesson 6: Handgun Safety:
- Fundamental rules of firearm safety
- Restricting access to firearms
- Performing safety checks
- Safe storage of the firearm
- Safe storage of ammunition
- Ammunition consideration
- Purchasing a handgun
- Concealed carry equipment considerations
Throughout this course you will find links to more information. For example, an Idaho statute may be briefly explained in the presentation, but to read the Idaho statute in its entirety you will need to click on the available link.
Once you have successfully finished the training program you will be prompted to purchase your certificate for $25, which will then be mailed to you within 5 business days. This formal certificate is for your records and display if you choose. The black and white plain page certificate will also be mailed to you. You must take this with you to the local sheriff’s office when making application for a CWL to show that you have met the basic requirements for your CWL.
It is important to note that there will be an additional fee for your CWL application processing at your local sheriff’s office. The fee is standard; however, you should contact the office for the correct amount.
Start by clicking on Lesson 1 below.